Home / Writing

Writing

Fear: Trump in the White House by Bob Woodward

Fear: Trump in the White House by Bob Woodward THE INSIDE STORY ON PRESIDENT TRUMP, AS ONLY BOB WOODWARD CAN TELL IT With authoritative reporting honed through eight presidencies from Nixon to Obama, author Bob Woodward reveals in unprecedented detail the harrowing life inside President Donald Trump’s White House and precisely how he makes decisions on major foreign and domestic policies. Woodward draws from hundreds of hours of interviews with firsthand sources, meeting notes, personal …

Read More »

A Pound of Paper: Confessions of a Book Addict by John Baxter

A Pound of Paper: Confessions of a Book Addict by John Baxter In the rural Australia of the fifties where John Baxter grew up, reading books was disregarded with suspicion, owning and collecting them with utter incomprehension. Despite this, by the age of eleven Baxter had ‘collected’ his first book – The Poems of Rupert Brooke. He’d read the volume often, but now he had to own it. This was the beginning of what would become …

Read More »

Tonight I’m Someone Else: Essays by Chelsea Hodson

Tonight I’m Someone Else: Essays by Chelsea Hodson A highly anticipated collection, from the writer Maggie Nelson has called, “bracingly good…refreshing and welcome,” that explores the myriad ways in which desire and commodification intersect. From graffiti gangs and Grand Theft Auto to sugar daddies, Schopenhauer, and a deadly game of Russian roulette, in these essays, Chelsea Hodson probes her own desires to examine where the physical and the proprietary collide. She asks what our privacy, our intimacy, …

Read More »

It Gets Worse: A Collection of Essays by Shane Dawson

It Gets Worse: A Collection of Essays by Shane Dawson

It Gets Worse: A Collection of Essays by Shane Dawson New York Times bestselling author Shane Dawson returns with another highly entertaining and uproariously funny essay collection, chronicling a mix of real life moments both extraordinary and mortifying, yet always full of heart. Shane Dawson shared some of his best and worst experiences in I Hate Myselfie, the critically acclaimed book that secured his place as a gifted humorist and keen observer of millennial culture. …

Read More »

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, wise, and fiercely candid collection of personal essays establishes Lena Dunham—the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s Girls—as one of the most original young talents writing today. In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one’s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten …

Read More »

Women & Power: A Manifesto by Mary Beard

Women & Power: A Manifesto by Mary Beard At long last, Mary Beard addresses in one brave book the misogynists and trolls who mercilessly attack and demean women the world over, including, very often, Mary herself. In Women & Power, she traces the origins of this misogyny to its ancient roots, examining the pitfalls of gender and the ways that history has mistreated strong women since time immemorial. As far back as Homer’s Odyssey, Beard shows, women …

Read More »

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West Coming of age in a culture that demands women be as small, quiet, and compliant as possible–like a porcelain dove that will also have sex with you–writer and humorist Lindy West quickly discovered that she was anything but. From a painfully shy childhood in which she tried, unsuccessfully, to hide her big body and even bigger opinions; to her public war with stand-up comedians over rape …

Read More »

My War Gone By, I Miss It So by Anthony Loyd

My War Gone By, I Miss It So by Anthony Loyd

My War Gone By, I Miss It So by Anthony Loyd Born to a distinguished family steeped in military tradition, raised on stories of wartime and ancestral heroes, Anthony Loyd longed to experience war from the front lines—so he left England at the age of twenty-six to document the conflict in Bosnia. For the following three years he witnessed the killings of one of the most callous and chaotic clashes on European soil, in the …

Read More »

Bluets by Maggie Nelson

Bluets by Maggie Nelson

Bluets by Maggie Nelson Suppose I were to begin by saying that I had fallen in love with a color… A lyrical, philosophical, and often explicit exploration of personal suffering and the limitations of vision and love, as refracted through the color blue. With Bluets, Maggie Nelson has entered the pantheon of brilliant lyric essayists. Bluets winds its way through depression, divinity, alcohol, and desire, visiting along the way with famous blue figures, including Joni …

Read More »

Zen in the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury

Zen in the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury

Zen in the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury “Every morning I jump out of bed and step on a land mine. The land mine is me. After the explosion, I spend the rest of the day putting the pieces back together. Now, it’s your turn. Jump!” Zest. Gusto. Curiosity. These are the qualities every writer must have, as well as a spirit of adventure. In this exuberant book, the incomparable Ray Bradbury shares the …

Read More »

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly An original addition to the beloved Beauty and the Beast fairy tale, Lost in a Book follows the lonely, bookish Belle as she finds an enchanted book in the Beast’s library called Nevermore that carries her into a glittering new world. There, Belle is befriended by a mysterious countess who offers her the life she’s always dreamed of. But Nevermore is not what it …

Read More »