Home / Short Stories

Short Stories

The Library of the Dead by Michael Bailey

The Library of the Dead by Michael Bailey

The Library of the Dead by Michael Bailey The Library of the Dead is an anthology of literary fiction inspired by Chapel of the Chimes, a crematory and columbarium founded in 1909 in Oakland, California, and one of the area’s most beautiful historic buildings. Thousands are entombed in golden books (urns) shelved from floor to ceiling in a glowing labyrinth of nearly countless rooms. The stories within The Library of the Dead represent a few …

Read More »

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu A publishing event: Bestselling author Ken Liu selects his award-winning science fiction and fantasy tales for a groundbreaking collection—including a brand-new piece exclusive to this volume. With his debut novel, The Grace of Kings, taking the literary world by storm, Ken Liu now shares his finest short fiction in The Paper Menagerie. This mesmerizing collection features all of Ken’s award-winning and award-finalist stories, including: “The Man …

Read More »

Swimmer Among the Stars: Stories by Kanishk Tharoor

Swimmer Among the Stars: Stories by Kanishk Tharoor

Swimmer Among the Stars: Stories by Kanishk Tharoor In one of the singularly imaginative stories from Kanishk Tharoor’s Swimmer Among the Stars, despondent diplomats entertain themselves by playing table tennis in zero gravity—for after rising seas destroy Manhattan, the United Nations moves to an orbiting space hotel. In other tales, a team of anthropologists treks to a remote village to record a language’s last surviving speaker intoning her native tongue; an elephant and his driver …

Read More »

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky by Lesley Nneka Arimah

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky by Lesley Nneka Arimah

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky by Lesley Nneka Arimah A dazzlingly accomplished debut collection explores the ties that bind parents and children, husbands and wives, lovers and friends to one another and to the places they call home. In “Who Will Greet You at Home”, a National Magazine Award finalist for The New Yorker, a woman desperate for a child weaves one out of hair, with unsettling results. In “Wild”, …

Read More »

The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister by George R. R. Martin

The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister by George R. R. Martin The perfect gift for fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire novels and HBO’s Game of Thrones: a collection of wicked one-liners from the incomparable Imp of Casterly Rock, fully illustrated by Jonty Clark! “My mind is my weapon. My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind . . . and …

Read More »

The Arabian Nights by Sir Richard Burton

The Arabian Nights by Sir Richard Burton The Arabian Nights is your magic carpet ride to exotic lands full of wonders and marvels. First collected nearly a thousand years ago, these folktales are presented as stories that crafty Scheherazade tells her husband, King Shahryar, over a thousand-and-one consecutive nights, to pique his interest for the next evening’s entertainment and thereby save her life. Among them are some of the best-known legends of eastern storytelling, including …

Read More »

The Complete Works of Kate Chopin by Kate Chopin

The Complete Works of Kate Chopin by Kate Chopin

The Complete Works of Kate Chopin by Kate Chopin In 1969, Per Seyersted gave the world the first collected works of Kate Chopin. Seyersted’s presentation of Chopin’s writings and biographical and bibliographical information led to the rediscovery and celebration of this turn-of-the-century author. Newsweek hailed the two-volume opus — “In story after story and in all her novels, Kate Chopin’s oracular feminism and prophetic psychology almost outweigh her estimable literary talents. Her revival is both …

Read More »

The Tales of Beedle the Bard (Hogwarts Library Series) by J. K. Rowling

The Tales of Beedle the Bard (Hogwarts Library Series) by J. K. Rowling

The Tales of Beedle the Bard (Hogwarts Library Series) by J. K. Rowling As familiar to many Hogwarts students as Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty are to Muggle children, The Tales of Beedle the Bard is a collection of popular stories written for young wizards and witches. Translated from the original runes by Hermione Granger, they include fascinating additional notes from Professor Albus Dumbledore, with intriguing glimpses into his life at Hogwarts, as well as illustrations …

Read More »

Once Upon a Happy Ending: An Anthology of Reimagined Fairy Tales by Casey Lane

Once Upon a Happy Ending: An Anthology of Reimagined Fairy Tales by Casey Lane

Once Upon a Happy Ending: An Anthology of Reimagined Fairy Tales by Casey Lane (and Others) 15 fairy tale classics reborn. 15 endings you’ll have to read to believe! What if Beauty was the beast? What if Little Red Riding Hood was a sacrifice? The stories of Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Sleeping Beauty have been told countless times over, but never quite like this… Once Upon a Happy Ending features your favorite tales retold by 16 …

Read More »

Once Upon a Curse: 17 Dark Faerie Tales by Yasmine Galenorn

Once Upon a Curse: 17 Dark Faerie Tales by Yasmine Galenorn

Once Upon a Curse: 17 Dark Faerie Tales by Yasmine Galenorn  (and Others) Seventeen magical stories from NY Times and USA Today bestsellers and award-winning authors that will entice you to the darker side of faerie tales. More Grimm than Disney, in this collection you’ll find twists on Snow White, Hansel & Gretel, Rumpelstiltskin, The Snow Queen, Cinderella, The Pied Piper, Alice in Wonderland, and Red Riding Hood, plus new tales paying homage to the old …

Read More »

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

  Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell ‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’ ‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’ ‘Maybe.’ If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and …

Read More »

Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson

Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson It took only twenty-two minutes for Kirby Matheson to exit his car, march onto school grounds, enter the gymnasium, and open fire, killing six and injuring five others. But this isn’t a story about the shooting itself. This isn’t about recounting that one unforgettable day. This is about Kirby and how one boy—who had friends, enjoyed reading, played saxophone in the band, and had never been in trouble before—became …

Read More »

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson and Sarah Rees Brennan Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material. This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp …

Read More »

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy Series by Cassandra Clare

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy Series by Cassandra Clare Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. But the events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. He knows he was friends with Clary, and that he convinced the total goddess Isabelle Lightwood to go out with him…but he doesn’t know how. And when Clary …

Read More »