if(parent.frames.length>0){top.location.replace(document.location);}
Home / Philosophy

Philosophy

The God That Failed by Richard Crossman

The God That Failed by Richard Crossman The God That Failed is a classic work and crucial document of the Cold War that brings together essays by six of the most important writers of the twentieth century on their conversion to and subsequent disillusionment with communism. In describing their own experiences, the authors illustrate the fate of leftism around the world. Andr’ Gide (France), Richard Wright (the United States), Ignazio Silone (Italy), Stephen Spender (England), Arthur …

Read More »

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch A lot of professors give talks titled “The Last Lecture.” Professors are asked to consider their demise and to ruminate on what matters most to them. And while they speak, audiences can’t help but mull the same question: What wisdom would we impart to the world if we knew it was our last chance? If we had to vanish tomorrow, what would we want as our legacy? When Randy …

Read More »

The Art of Seduction by Robert Greene

The Art of Seduction by Robert Greene From the creators of the New York Times-bestselling The 48 Laws of Power, comes a mesmerizing handbook on seduction: the most subtle and effective form of power Which sort of seducer could you be: Siren? Rake? Cold Coquette? Star? Comedian? Charismatic? or Saint? This book will show you which. Charm, persuasion, the ability to create illusions: these are some of the many dazzling gifts of the Seducer, the compelling figure who …

Read More »

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life by Mark Manson In this generation-defining self-help guide, a superstar blogger cuts through the crap to show us how to stop trying to be “positive” all the time so that we can truly become better, happier people. For decades, we’ve been told that positive thinking is the key to a happy, rich life. “F**k positivity,” Mark Manson says. “Let’s …

Read More »

Be Here Now by Ram Dass

Be Here Now by Ram Dass “Now, though I am a beginner on the path, I have returned to the West for a time to work out karma or unfulfilled commitment. Part of this commitment is to share what I have learned with those of you who are on a similar journey. One can share a message through telling ‘our-story’ as I have just done, or through the teaching methods of yoga, or singing, or …

Read More »

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari 100,000 years ago, at least six human species inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations and human rights; to trust money, books and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, …

Read More »

The Mastery of Love by Don Miguel Ruiz

The Mastery of Love by Don Miguel Ruiz

The Mastery of Love by Don Miguel Ruiz In The Mastery of Love, don Miguel Ruiz illuminates the fear-based beliefs and assumptions that undermine love and lead to suffering and drama in our relationships. Using insightful stories to bring his message to life, Ruiz shows us how to heal our emotional wounds, recover the freedom and joy that are our birthright, and store the spirit of playfulness that is vital to loving relationships. The Master …

Read More »

Bluets by Maggie Nelson

Bluets by Maggie Nelson

Bluets by Maggie Nelson Suppose I were to begin by saying that I had fallen in love with a color… A lyrical, philosophical, and often explicit exploration of personal suffering and the limitations of vision and love, as refracted through the color blue. With Bluets, Maggie Nelson has entered the pantheon of brilliant lyric essayists. Bluets winds its way through depression, divinity, alcohol, and desire, visiting along the way with famous blue figures, including Joni …

Read More »

The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister by George R. R. Martin

The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister by George R. R. Martin The perfect gift for fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire novels and HBO’s Game of Thrones: a collection of wicked one-liners from the incomparable Imp of Casterly Rock, fully illustrated by Jonty Clark! “My mind is my weapon. My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind . . . and …

Read More »

Outrageous Openness: Letting the Divine Take the Lead by Tosha Silver

Outrageous Openness: Letting the Divine Take the Lead by Tosha Silver

Outrageous Openness: Letting the Divine Take the Lead by Tosha Silver A collection of spiritual lessons, anecdotes, and thoughts on the Divine’s intervention in our lives, this brilliantly written and wonderfully entertaining book teaches us how to live purposefully and in line with the Force of Love. “What if the Divine is constantly igniting roadside flares to get our attention? What if there actually is a Supreme Organizing Principle with an unbridled sense of humor? …

Read More »

On the Seventh Day Trilogy by Paulo Coelho

On the Seventh Day Trilogy by Paulo Coelho

By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept (On the Seventh Day #1) From Paulo Coelho, author of the international bestseller The Alchemist, comes a poignant, richly poetic story that reflects the depth of love and life. Rarely does adolescent love reach its full potential, but what happens when two young lovers reunite after eleven years? Time has transformed Pilar into a strong and independent woman, while her devoted childhood friend has grown into …

Read More »